Home › Studies › Fine print study

Tire Rebate Fine Print Study (October 2026)

By Dave. Terms read and coded Oct 14, 2026.

Of 14 tire rebate programs whose official terms we read on October 14, 2026, 11 (79%) say only participating or authorized dealers qualify, 2 (14%) say your name and address must match the invoice, and the median time to file after the purchase window closes is 30 days.

I read the official terms for every tire rebate program in this month's index and wrote down, for each one, what it asks of you. The idea is simple: most denied claims seem to come from conditions buried in the fine print, so it helps to see how common each condition is. These are counts of what the terms say. They aren't denial rates, which nobody outside the rebate processors can measure.

How common each condition is

Condition in the official termsProgramsShareTerms don't say
Must buy a set of four14 of 14100%0
Terms say the invoice/receipt must show it was paid4 of 1429%10
Must submit a receipt or invoice11 of 1479%3
Proof of installation required (online purchases)2 of 1414%12
Participating/authorized dealers only11 of 1479%3
Name and address must match the invoice2 of 1414%12
Per-household (or per-person) limit13 of 1493%1
Larger amount only with a brand/store credit card7 of 1450%–
Terms address online purchases5 of 1436%9
Prepaid card expires 6 months after issue (where stated)8 of 1457%5
Terms say work orders are not accepted2 of 1414%–

"Terms don't say" means the terms we read didn't mention the condition either way. That isn't the same as "not required". Some programs print more terms on the claim site than on the page or form we read.

What the claim windows look like

For the 14 programs that print a claim deadline, the time from the last day to buy to the claim deadline ranges from 10 to 31 days (median 30). 3 of them give 10 days or fewer. 11 of 14 programs print an expected payment time. The longest stated is 12 weeks.

Program by program

ProgramSet of 4Paid invoiceInstall proofDealer-onlyName/address matchHousehold limitCard bonusOnline purchasesDays to file after windowSource
Bridgestone BSUSOCT26yesyesnot statedyesnot stated2 per household, customer, or addressyes (up to 180 with CFNA credit card)not stated10terms
Firestone FSUSOCT2660yesyesnot statedyesnot stated2 per household, customer, or addressyes (up to 160 with CFNA credit card)not stated10terms
Firestone $70 lines (October)yesnot statednot statedyesnot stated2 per household, customer, or addressyes (up to 170 with CFNA credit card)not stated10terms
General Tire fall rebateyesyesonline purchases onlyyesnot stated2 per person, household, email or addressyes (up to 180 with General Tire / listed Synchrony cards)allowed with proof of installation30terms
Michelin Fall Promotionyesnot statednot statedyesnot stated3 per householdnoallowed (order confirmation required; participating dealer)31terms
BFGoodrich Fall Promotionyesnot statednot statedyesnot stated3 per householdnonot stated31terms
Goodyear offer 260037yesnot statednot statednot statedyes4 per household, per promotionyes (up to 200 with Goodyear Credit Card)allowed (online invoice plus authorized-retailer invoice)31terms
Cooper offer 265005yesnot statedonline purchases onlynot statedyes4 per household, per promotionnoallowed with installation invoice31terms
Hankook Fall Savingsyesnot statednot statedyesnot stated2 per person/householdnonot stated30terms
Continental at Big 3 Tire (October)yesnot statednot statedyesnot stated2 per name/household/addressyes (up to 140 with Big 3 Tire / Mr. Tire Synchrony card)not stated30terms
Yokohama at Big 3 Tire (October)yesnot statednot statedyesnot stated2 per name/household/addressyes (up to 140 with Big 3 Tire Synchrony card)not stated30terms
Toyo at Tire Pros (October)yesyesnot statedyesnot stated2 per householdnonot stated30terms
Kumho Consumer Rebate (Sept-Oct)yesnot statednot statedyesnot stated2 per household/emailnonamed online sellers excluded (Walmart.com, eBay, Amazon.com)30terms
Continental Canada Fall 2026yesnot statednot statednot statednot statednot statednonot stated25terms

The exact wording we coded from

What buyers report (anecdotes, not rates)

In June to August 2026, several threads on Reddit's r/tires described Continental rebate claims being denied and later approved after a phone call or escalation. These are individual accounts we can't verify. They don't tell us how often claims are denied, and we haven't tried to calculate a rate from them:

The practical lesson matches the fine print above: send a clear, paid, itemized invoice from a participating dealer, make sure the name and address match, keep proof of installation if you bought online, and file early enough that you have time to fix a rejection before the deadline.

Download the data

Download the coded terms (CSV, CC BY 4.0). Please credit "TireCoupons.com" with a link to this page.

Methodology

Related: why tire rebates get denied and how tire rebates work.

Common questions

What does a tire rebate usually require?

In the 14 programs we read, 14 require a set of four and 11 say you must submit a receipt or invoice. Dealer rules, household limits and claim deadlines are the other common conditions.

How long do I have to send in a tire rebate?

Across the 14 programs that print a deadline, the time from the last purchase day to the claim deadline ranged from 10 to 31 days, with a median of 30 days. Check your own offer, because the deadline is set per program.

Can I get a tire rebate if I buy online?

Sometimes. 5 of 14 programs mention online purchases in the terms we read. Some accept them with proof of installation, and Kumho's names Walmart.com, eBay and Amazon.com as not eligible. The rest don't say, so ask before you order.